second offense DUI

Penalties you may face on a Second DUI Offense

  • A second offense DUI in Washington State can carry very serious consequences.
  • This is particularly so if your second DUI is within 7 years of the prior DUI because the judge has mandatory minimums that he or she cannot go below in sentencing.
  • So, unless your charge can be reduced to a lesser offense, deferred, or you are acquitted at trial, you face pretty extreme penalties for a second DUI offense within 7 years.
  • You need a knowledgeable attorney to help put together a proper defense for you.  We handle DUI cases with priors every day successfully.  Call today for your free consultation.

There Is No Time to Waste!

Complete this form to speak with our intake team today.

2nd Offense DUI - Sentencing Grids

If you took the breath or blood test and it was less than .15, or more than 5 ng of THC, or if you were impaired by any drug in your system, even if there is no test result (but not because you refused the breath test), the penalties may Include:

1 Prior Offense in 7 years 2 Prior Offenses in 7 years
Min/Max Jail Time 30 days/ 364 days 90 days/ 364 days
Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM) 60 days mandatory 120 days OR a minimum of 8 additional days jail
Min/Max Fine (fees/ assessments, not including probation fees) $1,245.50 / $5k $2,095.50 / $5k
License Suspension/ Revocation (Day for Day Credit given for administrative suspension/ revocation) 2 year revocation 3 year revocation
Diagnostic substance use evaluation and follow recommendations. Expanded Evaluation Required Expanded Evaluation Required

Breath or Blood Alcohol Test Result .150 or Higher or Test Refused

1 Prior Offense in 7 years 2 Prior Offenses in 7 years
Min/Max Jail Time 45 days/ 364 days 120 days/ 364 days
Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM) 90 days mandatory OR 6 Days in Jail + 6 months EHM 150 days OR a minimum of 10 additional days jail
Min/Max Fine (fees/ assessments, not including probation fees) $1,670.50 / $5k $2,9455.50 / $5k
License Suspension/ Revocation (Day for Day Credit given for administrative suspension/ revocation) 900 day revocation | 3 years if BAC Refused 4 year revocation
Diagnostic substance use evaluation and follow recommendations. Expanded Evaluation Required Expanded Evaluation Required

3 Reasons to Hire Us

#1

Experience

Our Team of Attorneys and Paralegals have over 30 years of combined experience.  We know the law and understand how to apply it to your case.

#2

Focused on You

We create a custom defense for every client.  Not all cases are the same and we know that.  Your concerns and goals are our top priority.

#3

Reputation

As a long time author and speaker Ms. Callahan is respected across the county for her trial skills and investigative knowledge.  He reputation proceeds herself when appearing in court.

What are some other consequences?

Linda M. Callahan

Jail and EHM

  • Other serious consequences, not imposed by a judge, may result from the conviction for a Washington State second offense DUI.
  • Few people can serve a lengthy jail sentence without losing their job.
  • Electronic home monitoring is costly and at the offender’s expense.
  • The second DUI conviction will show up in background checks for employment, by a landlord, or creditors.
  • Canadian border guards will not permit you to cross into that country.
  • You may be denied a rental car.

CDL Holders

  • Commercial drivers convicted of a second DUI, face a lifetime disqualification of the CDL.

Insurance Rates

  • For anyone convicted of a DUI, insurance rates may skyrocket or the policy may be canceled.

Chemical Dependency Treatment

  • For a second offense, there is a greater likelihood that a chemical dependency evaluation will result in a recommendation for intensive treatment for alcohol or drug dependency.

“Tough DUI Laws Require Tough DUI Lawyers”

Linda M. Callahan

plan of action

know your rights

Washington State has some of the toughest DUI laws in our nation. These laws carry increasingly severe penalties for those who drink and drive. Washington lowered the BAC limit from .10 to 0.08 in January of 1999. Drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) at .08 or above can now be convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol. In addition, because public sentiment is so very negative toward drunk drivers, prosecutors will often pursue a DUI conviction even when the driver’s test result is well under .08! This is possible because they can obtain a conviction if they can show the person drove while “affected by” alcohol, and/or marijuana or any drug, including prescription or over-the-counter medications.

3rd Offense DUI

4th Offense DUI

Deferred Prosecution (DP)

We Author the DUI Manual Defense Attorneys rely on everyday for DUI Defense Strategies.

Contact us today for a 100% Free Consultation

Learn more about defense strategies and evidence

We know DUI Law better than most firms.  That’s why we are trusted by Thomson Reuters to Author the DUI Practice Manual for Washington every year since 2006.  We literally write The Book on DUI.

Let Us Be Your Legal Advocate

Contact one of our Experienced DUI Attorneys today and get the advice you need now.  Learn how to save your license and stay out of jail.

With Offices in Seattle, Olympia, and Shelton, we literally surround the Puget Sound.

81 S. Main St, Seattle, WA 98104

921 Lakeridge Way SW, Suite 102, Olympia WA 98502

1635 Olympic HWY N, Suite 101A, Shelton WA 98584

Copyright 2021 – 2025 |  Callahan Law, P.S., Inc.

Disclaimer: The legal information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice, nor the formation of a lawyer or attorney client relationship. Any results set forth herein are based upon the facts of that particular case and do not represent a promise or guarantee.  This web site is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the state of Washington.

How Can we Help You?

Complete the form below and our Intake Team will contact you shortly.

There Is No Time to Waste!

Complete this form to speak with our intake team today.

Contact Info